News

henderson

By Denis Bourbonnais

Bert Henderson kept the momentum going and dominated the final in the Grand Prix class, in front of a crowded Bourcier Park for the 9th edition of the Régates de Beauharnois.

The championship had already been decided in Detroit a few weeks earlier, but the driver from Brockville (Ontario) led the last race of the day from start to finish, completing the four laps in 2 minutes 33 seconds in the GP-777 Steeler to win his second competition of the 2015 season.

Henderson, starting from the 2nd lane, came out the initial turn in first place, followed closely by Éric Langevin aboard the GP-12 Long Shot. The chances of winning of the latter dwindled in one fraction of a second when the driver from Mercier ran into the leader’s rooster tail and dangerously flew into the air.

While Henderson never looked back for the remaining of the race, Langevin regained his second place and kept it until the end with a 2:37 time, leading him to his first podium in the Grand Prix class. Langevin also holds the fastest time of the weekend (2:25) when he won the 3B qualifying heat.

Tom Pakradooni finished in third place with the GP-88 Rolling Thunder and the 69 points he made in Beauharnois secured him the second position in the standings, in front of Brandon Kennedy. Once again, the driver from Bear (Delaware) ran into some technical problems with the Team H8 EMS and could not make the final.

The final ranking saw a dominating Bert Henderson take the first position with 674 points, followed by Tom Pakradooni (512) and Brandon Kennedy (508).

2.5 litre and Formula 2500

The stakes were high in the 2.5 litre and Formula 2500 classes. Indeed, a new regulation put in place this year states that the first three drivers making up the 2.5 litre standings could move to the Formula 2500 class next season. On the other hand, drivers filling the last three spots in F2500 will race in the 2.5 litre class next year.

Even if Donald Leduc confirmed his champion status after his very first race of the weekend, on Saturday, to take his first championship in career with the F-48 Cannonball, the audience was treated to a very exciting final the next day. It was probably the most thrilling race of the season, all classes considered, even though the 8 participants missed the start.

Rob Stevenson aboard the F-10 Wet Spot came out victorious at the end of an epic battle involving three boats. Yan Beaupré, behind the wheel of the F-36 Yancy, had to fight a persistent Douglas Rapp, who registered fast times all weekend with the F-79 Bad Influence.

The third member of this trio, Rob Stevenson, stayed behind until mid-race, when he pushed his hydroplane to pass Rapp and get closer to Beaupré. During the last two laps of the race, the Yancy and the Wet Spot traded first place many times. The duel came to a conclusion when Stevenson outran Beaupré in the last stretch to the finish line.

Donald Leduc (441 points) reached the top of the standings, 80 points in front of his closest opponent, who was only announced after all the penalties associated with the false starts were calculated. In the end, Bobby King, despite his 8th position in the final, finished in second place with 371 points and the Steve Armstrong-Tom Huganir partnership (F-11 Total Chaos) took the third position, only one point (366-365) in front of Rémy Leblanc (F-99 Vegas).

With the new regulations, Dominic Billette (12th) and Jean-François Latour (14th) will be running in the 2.5 litre class next season, while Karson Kennedy, Leah Hoosick and Guillaume Charette will move up to the Formula 2500 class.

To read the article in the Journal Saint-François: http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2015/9/8/bert-henderson-finit-en-beaute.html [French version only]

Share

Back to News

Actualité

GP-777 Steeler

Par Denis Bourbonnais

Bert Henderson a poursuivi sur sa lancée et il a dominé la finale de la classe Grand Prix, devant une foule nombreuse et fébrile réunie au parc Bourcier pour la 9e présentation des Régates de Beauharnois.

Déjà sacré champion des points à Détroit quelques semaines plus tôt, le pilote de Brockville (Ontario) a mené l’épreuve ultime de bout en bout et il a complété les quatre tours en 2 minutes, 33 secondes à bord du GP-777 Steeler pour décrocher sa 2e victoire de la saison 2015.

Henderson, détenteur du 2e corridor, a été le premier à sortir du virage initial alors qu’Éric Langevin était à ses trousses dans le GP-12 Long Shot. Les chances de ce dernier se sont toutefois envolées en une fraction de seconde lorsque le bolide du conducteur de Mercier a heurté la queue d’eau du meneur pour s’élever dangereusement dans les airs.

Pendant que Henderson s’éloignait seul en avant, Langevin a réussi à regagner sa 2e position et il a gardé l’emprise sur ce résultat grâce à un chrono de 2:37 qui lui a valu un premier podium en Grand Prix. Langevin a d’ailleurs réussi le meilleur temps du week-end (2:25) lors de son triomphe dans la qualification 3B.

Tom Pakradooni a pris le 3e rang dans le GP-88 Rolling Thunder et une récolte de 69 points à Beauharnois lui a permis d’éclipser Brandon Kennedy en 2e position au championnat. Une fois de plus, le coureur de Bear (Delaware) a connu des ennuis divers avec le Team H8 EMS et il a été écarté de la finale.

Au classement final, Bert Henderson est dans une classe à part avec 674 points et Tom Pakradooni (512) est parvenu à se hisser devant Brandon Kennedy (508).

2,5 litres et Formule 2500

Les enjeux étaient importants en 2,5 litres et Formule 2500. En effet, en vertu des nouveaux règlements en vigueur, les trois premiers au classement cumulatif en 2,5 litres avaient la chance d’accéder à la Formule 2500 la saison prochaine. En contrepartie, les pilotes qui occupaient les trois dernières places en F2500 seront relégués à la classe 2,5 litres.

Même si Donald Leduc a réglé le championnat dès sa sortie initiale, samedi, pour décrocher un premier titre des points en carrière dans le F-48 Cannonball, les spectateurs ont eu droit à une finale enlevante au possible le lendemain. Sûrement la plus électrisante de la saison, toutes classes confondues, et ce malgré le fait que les 8 participants ont tous devancé le départ.

Rob Stevenson a triomphé au terme d’une bataille épique à bord du F-10 Wet Spot mais pas avant de jouer du ponton à ponton avec deux adversaires. Jusqu’à la mi-course, Yan Beaupré, aux commandes du F-36 Yancy, s’est évertué à repousser les élans de Douglas Rapp qui avait été rapide tout au long du week-end dans le F-79 Bad Influence.

L’autre membre du trio infernal, Rob Stevenson, est demeuré dans le sillon de ses prédécesseurs jusqu’à ce qu’il pousse la machine d’un autre cran pour doubler Rapp et rattraper Beaupré. Dans les deux derniers tours, le Yancy et le Wet Spot ont joué à la chaise musicale plusieurs fois en tête. Un duel furieux qui s’est poursuivi jusqu’au dernier droit alors que Stevenson a coiffé Beaupré tout juste avant la ligne d’arrivée.

Au classement cumulatif, Donald Leduc (441 points) l’a finalement emporté par 80 points mais il a fallu démêler les derniers résultats influencés par les pénalités associées aux départs sautés pour déterminer l’identité des deux autres coureurs qui ont accédé au podium de saison. Bobby King, en dépit de sa 8e place dans la course ultime, s’est assuré du 2e rang grâce à une récolte de 371 points et la combinaison Steve Armstrong-Tom Huganir (F-11Total Chaos) a arraché la 3e position à Rémy Leblanc (F-99Vegas) par un maigre point (366-365).

Les nouveaux règlements dictent donc que Dominic Billette (12e) et Jean-François Latour (14e) sont susceptibles d’être relégués à la classe 2,5 litres tandis que Karson Kennedy, Leah Hoosick et Guillaume Charette feront le saut en Formule 2500.

Lire la nouvelle dans le Journal Saint-François: http://www.journalsaint-francois.ca/sports/2015/9/8/bert-henderson-finit-en-beaute.html

Partager

Retour aux nouvelles